h1

Setting up the New Surly Long Haul Trucker

July 29, 2009

Picked up my new Surly Long Haul Trucker at Montgomery Cyclery-West Chester.  I’d selected the LHT because I wanted something to load up with panniers, and could take the abuse of a Clydesdale (200lb plus person).  I enjoy powerlifting and weightlifting too much to give them up, so at 230 lbs, you’ll not find me in the Tour de France anytime soon competing with the 140lb “horse-jockey” size guys… lol

I always enjoy working with Mark, Brent, and Brian there, so when I was in the market for a Long Haul Trucker, I asked Mark to special order one for me.  Once they got it in and setup, they gave me a call and I gladly rushed over to pick it up.  At the same time, I picked out some Time clipless pedals that would be compatible with my Mountain Bike shoes.  Then, because I was in a buying sort of mood, I also got some 50% off Shimano Biking Sandals….  nice open toed shoes for touring and compatible with the clipless pedals.

There was a stubborn seat bolt, so I couldn’t immediately get my Brooks Saddle over on the LHT, so I just adjusted the seat height and handles so that I could do a test ride.  The clouds were quickly darkening and I could hear thunder rumbling in the distance, so there was no time to waste!

The gear shifts on the ends of the handle bars are definitely going to take some getting used to using.  While the style of shifter is more “maintenance-friendly” when traveling, it’s less responsive to gear changes, perhaps because I’m not familiar with the positioning.

I can already tell that the steel frame and 37mm tires (compared to my road bike’s aluminum frame and 25mm tires) is much more forgiving to bumps and vibrations.

I only got a total of 7 miles on the LHT, but I’m looking forward to many more as I get used to it!

Maiden Voyage

2 comments

  1. Do you think he loves the bikes more than me? 😀


  2. Not a chance!! 🙂



Leave a Reply

