h1

How bicycling can help your diving (or other activities), your health, and the environment!

December 14, 2008

This year I needed an activity that I could “immerse” myself into since driving to the quarries for diving seemed like a waste of good money with the high price of petro earlier in the year.

The benefit has been an activity that can be participated in multiple times per week. Being outdoors with the wind whipping past me has been a great motivator to continued riding. The outdoor views, Penny’s company, improved cardio, and increased leg strength have made the riding quite fun and worthwhile. Riding a bike through the countryside is a great way to experience it. In fact, the speed of biking is a “sweet spot”… when walking, wildlife hears you and runs off long before you see them… in a car or motorcycle, wildlife is often a blur… but when biking, you come up on wildlife before they realize you are there and can experience them differently than driving or walking. We’ve seen lots of squirrels, rabbits, ground hogs, deer, cardinals, and even turkeys…. each providing their own measure of enjoyment to our rides.

Since I travel so much, and can often take my bike with me, it is also a healthier alternative than some of the local activities I used to find myself involved with… LOL! For those of you that are disciplined enough to use hotel fitness rooms, biking around a new area is a great way to break up the monotony, and to get to know it as well. Storing the bike in the hotel rooms works out pretty well.

You’ll find that many areas can have paved bike trails, secondary roads suitable for riding, or even hidden mountain bike trails that are a great way to burn some calories.

Another side benefit to cycling is participating in an activity that uses less petroleum resources (other than possibly getting to a trailhead or other suitable start point for your biking).

Now… what does this all have to do with diving. Well… since I’ve taken up biking, any of the diving that I’ve done has been immensely easier. Not only are there cardio benefits, but strength/endurance benefits as well. On week-long jaunts where toting around doubles all week used to tire me out and really get me by the end of the week, I felt great. In fact, our last full week of cave diving in Florida it was very hot, yet even carrying extra gear to facilitate a cave class seemed easy. Even helping other divers lug gear up and down the steps at Gilboa Quarry was a piece of cake!

You may strongly want to consider picking up a bike and enjoying a pleasant activity that can help de-stress you from everyday life as well as improve other areas physically. If you already have a steady consistent workout regimen that you practice… that’s awesome. Evenso, you may want to initiate some cross-training with some cycling.

You needn’t bike as if you were going to participate in the Tour de France! Rather, you can ride a comfort bike, mountain bike, road bike, even a recumbent and enjoy the benefits of getting outdoors with an activity that is easy on your joints!

Will you join me in biking your way to a better quality of life? I think you’ll find the activity quite enjoyable!

3 comments

  1. Thanks for posting! I needed it.

    At age 39, early this year I decided it was time to start riding to work. Right away I saw improvements in my diving.

    Surface swims were easier and faster, my breathing was more balanced and controlled and SAC rate fell.

    But due to various reasons [read excuses] I stopped riding a few months later, and it sucks 😦

    My cardio is down, kicking is harder and my SEX (ops. meant to say SAC) rate has reverted back to terrible.

    Hopefully winter will clear out early this year (thank god for global warming) and I can get back into the saddle.

    Great blog, just the kick in the shorts I needed.

    Thanks,
    Mike


  2. You certainly don’t have to wait until winter is over! You can get yourself a set of rollers or a resistance trainer to set your bike on and start building your endurance back up. That way, by the time nicer weather rolls around, you’ll be ‘good to go’!


  3. I hear you on the wildlife. I wondered if anyone else had noticed the same thing.

    Several weeks ago, I came upon a well-fattened hawk preening his feathers on the railing of the pedestrian bridge I was crossing. I could have reached over and grabbed a tail feather as I went past. He looked up at the sound of me passing and then went back to preening.



Leave a Reply

