h1

7 Miles of Mountain Biking at Oakwood Park in Napoleon, OH

November 4, 2008

It seems as of late, I’ve been doing a lot of mountain bike riding.  Looking at my training log, that is surely the case.  Why?  1) Perhaps because we just got new mountain bikes a couple of weeks ago, 2) With the sun setting quickly in the evening, it’s a great way to get a good workout packed into a short amount of time, 3) The completeness of the workout, both for building leg strength on the short intense hills of the trails, and the upper body workout from handling, twisting, pulling, and balancing the bike as the trails turn sharply around trees and obstacles…. something entirely missing from riding on the road.

Tonight I ran over to Oakwood Park in Napoleon, OH.  I’d only learned of it a few days ago when I was perusing the SpokeJunkie website.  I had no idea it was this close to the college where I work (Yes… I live near Cincinnati, not near the college… a distance employee of sorts that travels around… hotels are my friend… LOL).

This MTB trail has a bit of everything for a novice MTB’er like myself….. trails littered with roots, fast drops, short intense climbs, log crossings, off-camber maneuvering (think “side of hill” riding), and flats for recovering.

The sun was setting pretty quickly when I arrived, so I had little time to waste.  Attaching my light, I made off for the trail and found one of many entry points to the single track (from the gravel path that circumnavigated the ball diamonds and parking lots.)

The trail has a lot of variety to it.  It was a bit of a challenge primarily because there was a thick leaf cover making it tougher to figure out which way the trail was going.  It hid some stuff like ruts and roots too, keeping me light on the handle bars and soft on the seat.

There is a gravel path that goes around the ball diamonds and park lots.

As you can tell, I didn’t have any fun at all!

I’ll definitely be back… if not tomorrow, then soon!

Album Pics on Facebook

Leave a Reply

