h1

Wabash Cannonball Trail (Rotary Park west to CR17)

October 29, 2008

Finally a day without cold rain… in fact, with the temp hovering between 32-40F the last two rainy days, today was a heat wave by comparison with a dry 48F…. LOL!

Cannondale Hardtail F5

Prepping for the ride on the Cannondale Hardtail F5

I grabbed the Mountain Bike and headed from the hotel down to Rotary Park in Wauseon, OH.  I knew the trail was paved in town, but wasn’t sure where the pavement ended at the west edge of town, so I head out for some riding.

Endless trail of loose stone

After almost a mile on the pavement, the trail abrubtly ended, and a walking path meandered up to the old rail bed.  However, instead of the hardpack cinders I was expecting, I found loosing and shifting rip rap instead.  This stuff was a serious pain in the ass to ride in, keeping me in low range in 1st, 2nd, and rarely 3rd gear.  After a 1/2 mile of this and dodging groundhog holes, I had to stop and loosen up some layers because I was getting pretty hot.

Loose Shifting Rip Rap and a deep groundhog hole

For some reason I kept plowing ahead hoping it would get easier and thinking that this trail system was in desperate need of a champion.  When I reached CR16, there was a sign laying on the ground.  Picking it up, the extremely faded letters read, “City Property: No Trespassing”.  Oops… apparently they didn’t want anyone riding on this portion of trail.  Would have been nice if a sign like this was on the other end where the paved portion ended.  No wonder it was so pathetic!

Wabash Cannonball Trail looking west at CR17

Across the street, there was a sign marking “Wabash Cannonball Trail”.  This section was definitely better with the cinder hardpack.  I put the bike into the middle range and zoomed along by comparison.  I’d eaten up a lot of time on the poor section though, so when I reached CR17, I opted to mount the front and rear lights on the bike and venture back to Wauseon via the roads.  Even with the tire pressure softened for use on the trail, I was cruising a heckuva lot faster getting back on the roads than I did heading out on the trail.

Reflecting on a day of riding

Well… I won’t be adding the miles very quickly to my training log using the mountain bike, but you can sure get a good work quicker and burn more calories than with the road bikes. 🙂

2 comments

  1. roflmao…..you know, the funniest part of the post (besides the pic of your reflection) is the part that says:
    Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)

    * Hill of Death

    Bwahahaha
    So this was the Flatlands of Despair…..hehehe


  2. Ironic, isn’t it? Definitely the hardest flats I’ve traversed yet. On the way back I actually skirted part of the trail by going through a soft wet field. Definitely easier than those loose rocks that were definitely a pain in the ass!



Leave a Reply

