h1

Bike Around Debris

September 18, 2008

In the wake of the remnants of Hurricane Ike blowing up through Ohio, our biking patterns have really been changed this week.  Lots of fallen trees and debris litter the trail.  Biking around seems more like using an off-road trail than a paved path, so we didn’t get a lot of miles in this week.  Carrying bikes over and under and around trees tends to slow ya down… LOL.

We did manage to get more hills in this week.  I tackled the “hill of death” on the Lebanon trail a couple of times this week because this trail had less debris on it.  I’m realizing that my erratic bike riding (due to many recent dive vacations and work out of town) and the subtle avoidance of hill work have left me ill-prepared for this hill.  I’ve yet to make it all the way up in one fell swoop, although I got damned close once this week.

Tonight, I did a 20 mile solo ride that included many more moderate hills… it was a nice combination of busy roads, bucolic country roads, and debris littered trails…. and a route that I look forward to trying again sometime.

I have to face the music… more hills need to be in my workout.  In fact, with the shorter days leaving less daylight for evening rides, hills seems to be a good way to refocus the workouts, maximizing the time available, and getting in some good leg and cardio work.  Since I knew I would be hitting moderate hills straight away on my road ride tonight, I jumped on the recumbent bike at home and got a 20 minute “hill workout” so I get warmed up.  Otherwise, I seemed to bonk before I can get my legs under me.  Almost 1000 miles this summer, and I still have to tip-toe around on the hills.  Sounds like I need to get more focused on strength training too.

Leave a Reply

